Executive Director, ReCFIT

Sean is currently the Executive Director, Renewables, Climate and Future Industries Tasmania within the Department of State Growth responsible for leading the Tasmanian Government’s ambitious renewable energy agenda. Sean has over 30 years of experience in the Tasmanian public service with much of that spent in the energy sector. He has been involved in many of the significant energy reforms in Tasmania including the disaggregation of the former Hydro Electric Commission, the establishment of Basslink, introducing gas into the Tasmanian energy sector and developing the Tasmanian Energy Security Framework following the energy supply challenges of 2016. He has also advised three Tasmanian Premiers and has been Chief of Staff to several Ministers, including the Minister for Energy.

Currently Sean is responsible for delivering on the Tasmanian Renewable Energy Target to double Tasmania’s renewable energy generation by 2040, developing a Green Hydrogen Industry in Tasmania, decarbonising Tasmania’s gas sector and Government oversight of major energy infrastructure projects including Project Marinus, onshore and offshore wind, the development of Renewable Energy Zones and major transmission upgrades. This role also includes extensive stakeholder management with the community and industry to ensure broad community support for renewable energy development in Tasmania.

Sean also holds the statutory position of Director of Energy Planning in Tasmania and is Tasmania’s Energy Senior Officials representative responsible for advising Energy Ministers on national energy reform.